# Report – Ballot Results and Amendments to the White Paper

# To be considered in conjunction with Items 10 and 11

To be presented on Thursday, 16th July 2020

To the Right Honourable The Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Commons of the City of London in Common Council assembled.

Following the Court's decision in respect of the annual appointment of committees, made at the June 2020 meeting, expressions of interest were sought in respect of the several vacancies on committees for the forthcoming year. An indicative ballot was undertaken electronically, with Members asked to submit their votes by 12 noon on Wednesday 15 July. Following the close of poll, the ballots were opened under the watch of the scrutineers appointed by the Lord Mayor and the results confirmed and verified as set out below by the scrutineers:

- Deputy Brian Mooney, the Chief Commoner
- Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark, the Deputy Chairman of the Finance Committee (excluding the ballot at Item 10(0)), on behalf of the Chairman of Finance Committee
- Deputy Edward Lord, O.B.E., J.P., the Chair of the Establishment Committee (for the ballot at Item 10(O) only).

The Court is now **recommended** to confirm the several appointments to committees in accordance with the will of its Membership, determined through the indicative ballot process.

The results were as follows:

#### Item 10:

### (A) Policy and Resources Committee (five vacancies).

		Votes
Rehana Banu Ameer	-	44
Deputy David John Bradshaw	-	9
*Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L.	-	39
*Marianne Bernadette Fredericks	-	50
Tracey Graham	-	32
Paul Nicholas Martinelli	-	23
*Deputy Catherine McGuinness	-	82
Andrien Gereith Dominic Meyers	-	72
Ruby Sayed	-	42
*Deputy Dr Giles Robert Evelyn Shilson	-	35
*Deputy Tom Sleigh	-	45

Spoilt ballots: NIL

#### Successful candidates:

- Deputy Catherine McGuinness
- Andrien Meyers
- Marianne Fredericks
- Deputy Tom Sleigh
- Rehana Ameer

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Policy and Resources Committee of Deputy Catherine McGuinness, Andrien Meyers, Marianne Fredericks, Deputy Tom Sleigh, and Rehana Ameer, for four-year terms, be confirmed.

# (B) Hospitality Working Party of the Policy and Resources Committee (one vacancy).

		1 <sup>st</sup> Round Votes	2 <sup>nd</sup> Round Votes
Tijs Broeke	-	40	60
*Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L.	-	18	-
Jeremy Lewis Simons	-	18	-
Deputy Philip Woodhouse	-	32	48

With no candidate obtaining 50% of the first preference votes, the candidates with fewest first preference votes were eliminated and second (and further) preference votes (as appropriate) were transferred. Following the second round of counting, Tijs Broeke received a majority of votes cast.

Spoilt Ballots: Six

Successful candidate: Tijs Broeke

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Hospitality Working Party of the Policy and Resources Committee of Tijs Broeke, for a four-year term, be confirmed.

### (C) Investment Committee (three vacancies).

		Votes
*Nicholas Michael Bensted-Smith, J.P.	-	72
*John Douglas Chapman	-	27
^James de Sausmarez	-	44
Anne Fairweather	-	39
^Michael Hudson	-	25
*Deputy Clare James	-	66
John Petrie	-	14

Spoilt Ballots: NIL

Successful candidates:

Nicholas Bensted-Smith

- Deputy Clare James
- James de Sausmarez

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Investment Committee of Nicholas Bensted-Smith, Deputy Clare James, and James de Sausmarez, for four-year terms, be confirmed.

# (H) Police Authority Board (four vacancies).

		Votes
Caroline Kordai Addy	-	47
<sup>†</sup> Munsur Ali	-	57
*Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L.	-	29
<sup>†</sup> John Ernest Edwards	-	7
<sup>†</sup> Helen Lesley Fentimen	-	20
Alderman Timothy Russell Hailes, J.P.	-	42
* <sup>†</sup> Alderman Ian David Luder, J.P.	-	38
<sup>†</sup> Jeremy Paul Mayhew	-	24
<sup>†</sup> Graham David Packham	-	40
<sup>†</sup> William Pimlott	-	12
<sup>†</sup> John Petrie	-	9
James Richard Tumbridge	-	17
Dawn Lindsay Wright	-	42

Spoilt Ballots: One

Successful candidates:

- Munsur Ali
- Caroline Addy
- Alderman Tim Hailes
- Dawn Wright

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Police Authority Board of Munsur Ali, Caroline Addy, and Alderman Tim Hailes for four-year terms, and Dawn Wright for a three-year term (completing the balance of the term vacated by Deputy Henry Pollard) be confirmed.

# (N) Gresham (City Side) Committee (three vacancies).

		Votes
Deputy Keith David Forbes Bottomley	-	62
Deputy Kevin Malcom Everett	-	21
Sophie Anne Fernandes	-	49
*Deputy Tom Hoffman, M.B.E.	-	69
*Deputy Edward Lord, O.B.E., J.P.	-	60
Jeremy Paul Mayhew	-	32

Spoilt Ballots: One

#### Successful candidates:

- Deputy Tom Hoffman
- Deputy Keith Bottomley
- Deputy Edward Lord

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Gresham Committee of Deputy Tom Hoffman, Deputy Keith Bottomley, and Deputy Edward Lord, for four-year terms, be confirmed.

## (O) Establishment Committee (three vacancies).

		Votes
Henry Nicholas Almroth Colthurst	-	72
Karina Dostalova	-	66
^Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark	-	65
*Jeremy Paul Mayhew	-	52
James Richard Tumbridge	-	25

Spoilt Ballots: Two

Successful candidates:

- Henry Colthurst
- Karina Dostalova
- Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Establishment Committee of Henry Colthurst, Karina Dostalova, and Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark, for four-year terms, be confirmed.

# (P) Open Spaces, City Gardens and West Ham Park Committees (two vacancies on each Committee).

		Votes
^Karina Dostalova	-	60
Andrew Stratton McMurtrie, J.P.	-	29
*Oliver Sells, Q.C.	-	52
*Jeremy Lewis Simons	-	35
^Deputy Philip Woodhouse	-	34

Spoilt Ballots: Two

#### Successful candidates:

- Karina Dostalova
- Oliver Sells

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Open Spaces, City Gardens and West Ham Park Committees of Karina Dostalova and Oliver Sells, for four-year terms, be confirmed.

### (T) Barbican Centre Board (three vacancies).

		Votes
Munsur Ali	-	55
Randall Keith Anderson	-	51
Deputy David John Bradshaw	-	9
Tijs Broeke	-	47
Deputy Kevin Malcolm Everett	-	6
Anne Fairweather	-	26
*Judith Lindsay Pleasance	-	34
Deputy James Henry George Pollard	-	26
*Deputy Dr Giles Robert Evelyn Shilson	-	49
James Richard Tumbridge	-	8

Spoilt Ballots: One

Successful candidates:

- Munsur Ali
- Randall Anderson
- Deputy Giles Shilson

It is **recommended** that the appointment to the Barbican Centre Board of Munsur Ali and Randall Anderson for three-year terms, and Deputy Dr Giles Shilson for a one-year term (as he is only eligible for one further years' service), be confirmed.

#### Item 11:

(F) One Member on **Thames 21**, for a three-year term expiring in May 2023.

		Votes
John Ernest Edwards	-	27
Andrew Stratton McMurtrie, J.P.	-	80

Spoilt Ballots: Seven

#### Successful candidate:

Andrew McMurtrie

It is **recommended** that the appointment to Thames 21 of Andrew McMurtrie, for a three-year term expiring in May 2023, be confirmed.

In addition to the above ballot results, please be advised that the following amendments have been identified as being necessary in respect of Committee memberships for the final version of the White Paper:-

- Community & Children's Services Committee (Summons, Page 7): Helen Fentimen's name has been omitted in error from the list of those in nomination for one of the fourteen vacancies on the Committee and should be added.
- Port Health & Environmental Services Committee (page 33): The length of service listed against Deputy Robert Merrett's name is incorrect and should read "8", rather than the listed "1".
- Markets Committee (page 35): The length of service listed against Deputy Robert Merrett's name is incorrect and should read "12", rather than the listed "11".
- Markets Committee (page 35): The Ward of Candlewick, which had previously expressed a desire to pairing with the Ward of Walbrook for its appointment, hereby amends its nomination to put forward Deputy Kevin Everett.